Agriculture-Beachcomber museum Swartwoude - Tourist Information “VVV” Ameland

Agriculture-Beachcomber museum Swartwoude

It seems romantic, but in fact it was a struggle for existence; the life of farmers on the Ameland of the past. 

Roaming through the unique world of yesteryear, visitors encounter the customs and traditions of Ameland culture.

After extensive refurbishment, the museum has undergone a complete transformation. It has also gained another craft!

In the museum a dozen wool machines are on display, which transform the wool from Ameland sheep into sustainable endproducts. Organic wool products are for sale in the renovated shop.

The beachcombers' collection is now on display both in the beachcombers' barn and outside.

Dogs are allowed on the ground floor provided they are leashed.

Please note that walking between the wool machines is not permitted.

Opening hours:

  • 8 January - 9 February 2024: Thursday and Sunday 13:00 - 17:00
  • 10 February - 25 February 2024: Monday - Saturday 13:00 - 17:00
  • 26 February - 17 March 2024: Thursday and Sunday 13:00 - 17:00 
  • 18 March - 31 October 2024: Monday - Friday 11:00 - 17:00, Saturday, Sunday and holidays 13:00 - 17:00*

* Holidays:

  • Easter: Sunday 31 March and Monday 1 April 2024
  • King's Day: Saturday 27 April 2024
  • Liberation Day: Sunday 5 May 2024
  • Ascension Day: Thursday 9 May 2024
  • Pentecost: Sunday 19 May and Monday 20 May 2024

Admission 2024:

  • Adults: € 6,80
  • Children (5 - 12 years old): € 5,30

Agriculture-Beachcomber museum Swartwoude

Hoofdweg 1
9164 KL, Buren
0031519-542737

To website

Choose your language

We noticed your device is in a differnt language.
Please select your prefered language.