Search and book
Demonstration horse-driven lifeboat - Tourist Information Centre

Demonstration horse-pulled lifeboat

During the demonstration of the horse-pulled lifeboat on Ameland ten strong horses pull the lifeboat across the beach and through the surf of the sea with all their might.

The demonstration of the horse-pulled lifeboat is a happening that reminds of the olden days, because nowadays, when a ship is in need, the modern motor boat Anna Margaretha speeds to the rescue. 

The demonstration shows the long history of rescuing people from drowning and helping out ships in need near Ameland.

Dates 2022   Start
Saturday 7 May 14:00
Saturday 4 June 14:00
Saturday 18 June 11:00
Tuesday 12 July 19:00
Tuesday 26 July  19:00
Tuesday 9 Aug. 19:00
Wednesday 24 Aug. 19:00
Wednesday 21 Sept. 18:00
Wednesday 19 Oct. 16:00
Thursday 29 Dec. 14:00

The start
The demonstration starts from the boat house adjacent to the Maritime centre "Abraham Fock" at the Oranjeweg 18 in Hollum. The sea launchings takes place at the beach south/west of Hollum, at the end of the Tjettepad.

Bus transport to the demonstration
It is possible to go to the demonstration by bus. The bus departs from the village of Buren and stops at every bus stop on the way. 

A different view
Would you like to see the launching of the rescue boat from the sea instead of the beach? That is also possible! Please step on board the Boat excursion company Zeehond, Seal boat m.s. Ameland or Schuurman Charters.

 

 

Choose your language

We noticed your device is in a differnt language.
Please select your prefered language.