Demonstration horse-driven lifeboat Ameland

Demonstration horse-driven lifeboat

During the demonstration of the horse-driven lifeboat on Ameland ten tough horses pull the lifeboat across the beach and through the breaking of the sea with massive force.

The demonstration of the horse-driven lifeboat is a happening that reminds of the old days, because when a  ship is in need, the modern Anna Margaretha sails from the harbour with great speed nowadays. 

The demonstration shows the long history of rescuing people from drowning and helping out ships in need near Ameland.

Demonstration Horse-driven lifeboat Ameland 2018 Time
Saturday December 29 1:30 PM
Demonstration Horse-driven lifeboat Ameland 2019 Time
Thursday February 28 5:00 PM
Saturday April 20 11:00 AM
Tuesday April 30 6:30 PM
Saturday June 8 2:00 PM
Saturday June 15 10:00 AM
Monday July 15 8:00 PM
Monday July 29 8:00 PM
Sunday August 11 5.00 PM
Wednesday August 14 8:00 PM
Tuesday August 27 7:00 PM
Saturday September 7 3:00 PM
Tuesday October 22 5:00 PM
Saturday December 28 10:30 AM

 

Dates and times are subject to change!

The demonstration starts from the boat house near the  Maritime centre "Abraham Fock" at the Oranjeweg 18 in Hollum. The launchings takes place at the beach south/west of Hollum, end Tjettepad.

Bus transport to the demonstration
It is possible to go to the demonstratiopn by bus. The bus departs from the village Buren and stops at every bus stop on the way. You can find the bus schedule on the right side of this page.

 

Demonstration horse-driven lifeboat





Do you have a question for VVV Ameland?